Going Down with the Plane.

There is this scene on Madmen where Campbell realizes his father was on the plane that went down and goes to tell Draper.

D: [Sees Campbell walk into this office with glassy eyes and a confused look.] Whats going on?

C: [Staring straight through Draper, speaking haltingly.] I just got off of the phone with my brother. It’s the strangest thing. Apparently my father was on that plane.

What?

My father. He was on that… on the plane.

Oh. I, I am sorry to hear that.

I don’t know what to do. I just saw him. At the barber…. What does one do? Make arrangements I guess. What am I supposed to do?

What people do. Go home.

I don’t even think I know how old he was. Someone’s going to ask that.

I don’t know.

You know what? I don’t think I’m going to tell anyone!  ….Am I going to cry?

You just had a shock. I wouldn’t worry about what you’re feeling. Go home and be with your family.

Why?

Because that’s what people do.

Is  that what you would do?

Yes

Really?

Yes.

Everything is exactly the same…

You should go home.

Uh, what about the Stouffer’s meeting?

I’ll cancel it. It’s not hurting anything. There is life and there is work.

I re-watched it three times.

Then, I wrote it all down.

I’ve never seen anything before adequately describe that moment when you’ve just been told that someone you love has died.

This does.

2 thoughts on “Going Down with the Plane.

Leave a Reply

